The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Tynedale 1-4 Forest Hall D

Posted by Lewis on March 14, 2019

Derek Harris 0-1 Ian Rook
David Wrigley 1-0 Mehdi Mazarei
Steve Larkin 0-1 Alex Brodie
Dave Humphries 0-1 Jamie McIntosh
Dvid Foster 0-1 Ryan Duff

Thursday 14th March 2019

South Shields B 2.5-2.5 Tynedale

Posted by Lewis on March 1, 2019

Brian Towers 1-0 Derek Harris
Kevin Rowden ½-½ Tim Wrigley
Dave Patterson 0-1 James Ross
Konstantinos Decidimonous 1-0 Ian Mackay
Eddie Czestochowski 0-1 Peter Crichton

Friday 1st March 2019

Tynedale 1.5-3.5 Tynemouth C

Posted by Lewis on February 15, 2019

Derek Harris 0-1 Antonio Moneva-Jordan
Tim Wrigley 0-1 Gary Cornwall
Peter Crichton ½-½ Christian Smith
Steve Larkin 0-1 Alex McFarlane
Dave Humphreys 1-0 Joe Murray

Thursday 14th February 2019

Gosforth Salters 2.5-2.5 Tynedale

Posted by Lewis on January 29, 2019

Ray Devenney ½-½ Tim Wrigley
,Dave Baynes 0-1 David Wrigley
Paul Sumner ½-½ Peter Chrichton
Martin Beardsley ½-½ Dave Humphreys
Alistair Ridley 1-0 Dave Foster Jnr

Monday 28th January 2019

Tynedale 3.5-1.5 Forest Hall C

Posted by Lewis on January 18, 2019

Derek Harris 0-1 Stuart Skelsey
Tim Wrigley 1-0 John Wall Jnr
James Ross 1-0 Ciaran McDonald
Ian Mackay ½-½ Paul Charlton
Peter Crichton 1-0 John Wall Snr

Thursday 17th January 2019

Gosforth Ivy 2.5-2.5 Tynedale

Posted by Lewis on December 4, 2018

John Wheeler 0-1 Tim Wrigley
Dave Stebbings ½-½ James Ross
Paul Costello ½-½ Ian Mackay
Bob Heyman ½-½ Peter Crichton
Ted Jarah 1-0 Dave Humphreys

Monday 3rd December 2018

Tynedale 2-3 Tynemouth B

Posted by Lewis on November 23, 2018

Tim Wrigley 1-0 Keith Rockett
Peter Crichton 0-1 Paul Edwards
Steve Larkin 0-1 Steve Burnell
Bruce Reed 0-1 Dave Hair
Dave Humphreys 1-0 Ray Garside

Thursday 22nd November 2018

South Shields C 1.5-3.5 Tynedale

Posted by Lewis on November 9, 2018

Colin Campbell ½-½ Tim Wrigley
Jim Riddle 1-0 James Ross
David Peardon 0-1 Ian Mackay
Asanga Gunasekara 0-1 Peter Crichton
Gary Hunter 0-1 Steve Larkin

Friday 9th November 2018

Tynedale 1.5-3.5 Newcastle University

Posted by Lewis on October 26, 2018

Tim Wrigley ½-½ Maxim Misevra
Peter Crichton 0-1 Hanif Zaman
Steve Larkin 0-1 Mez Benmaamar
Bruce Reed 0-1 Craig Lacey
Dave Humphreys 1-0 Luqman Mohamed

Thursday 25th October 2018