The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Morpeth A 4-1 Forest Hall B

Posted by Lewis on January 10, 2019

Roger Coathup 1-0 Chris Goodall
Mike Smyth 1-0 Mark Younger
James Turner ½-½ Johnny Wall
Phil Eastlake ½-½ Mark Broughton
Alan Welsh 1-0 Ian Rook

Wednesday 9th January 2019

Forest Hall B 2.5-2.5 South Shields A

Posted by Lewis on December 1, 2018

Zheming Zhang 0-1 David Mooney
Max Turner ½-½ John Boyd
Chris Goodall 1-0 Paul Bielby
Mike Smith ½-½ Brian Towers
Ravi Wariyar ½-½ Ian Maughan

Friday 30th November 2018

Leam Lane Aces 4-1 Forest Hall B

Posted by Lewis on November 13, 2018

Graeme Oswald 1-0 Zheming Zhang
Kirill Gara 1-0 Chris Goodall
Paul Robson 1-0 Mark Younger
Jason Daglish 1-0 Mike Smith
John Marsh 0-1 John Wall (j)

Tuesday 13th November 2018

Forest Hall B 2.5-2.5 Morpeth B

Posted by Lewis on November 2, 2018

Zheming Zhang ½-½ Phil Eastlake
Max Turner 1-0 Martin Seeber
Chris Goodall 1-0 Geoff Loxham
Mark Younger 0-1 Bob Mitcheson
Mike Smith 0-1 Martin Shaw

Friday 2nd November 2018

Forest Hall A 4.5-0.5 Forest Hall B

Posted by Lewis on October 14, 2018

Tim Wall 1-0 Chris Goodall
Yichen Han ½-½ Mark Younger
Max Turner 1-0 Ravi Wariyar
Zheming Zhang 1-0 Mike Smith
John Wall Jr 1-0 Mark Broughton

Friday 12th October 2018