The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Durham City 1.5-3.5 Forest Hall A

Posted by Lewis on March 21, 2019

Thomas Eggleston ½-½ Tim Wall
Ken Neat ½-½ Yichen Han
Douglas Smith ½-½ Caveh Madjdpour
Robin Nandi 0-1 Zheming Zhang
Joe Barr 0-1 Stuart Skelsey

Wednesday 20th March 2019

Morpeth A 2-3 Forest Hall A

Posted by Lewis on March 6, 2019

Roger Coathup 0-1 Tim Wall
Mike Smyth 1-0 Caveh Madjdpour
James Turner ½-½ Zheming Zhang
Alan Welsh 0-1 Chris Goodall
Geoff Loxham ½-½ John Newberry

Wednesday 6th March 2019

Forest Hall A 3-2 South Shields A

Posted by Lewis on February 22, 2019

Tim Wall ½-½ David Mooney
Caveh Madjdpour ½-½ John Boyd
Chris Goodall 0-1 Yaroslav Kolodiy
Zheming Zhang 1-0 Paul Bielby
Max Turner 1-0 Ian Maughan

Friday 22nd February 2019

Leam Lane Aces 1-4 Forest Hall A

Posted by Lewis on February 6, 2019

David Walker ½-½ Tim Wall
Graeme Oswald 0-1 Yichen Han
Kirill Gara 0-1 Caveh Madjdpour
Jason Dalglish ½-½ Mike Smith
John Marsh 0-1 Ciaran Macdonald

Tuesday 5th February 2019

Forest Hall A 3.5-1.5 Morpeth B

Posted by Lewis on January 26, 2019

Tim Wall 1-0 Phil Eastlake
Yichen Han 1-0 Alan Welsh
Caveh Madjdpour 0-1 Geoff Loxham
Zheming Zhang ½-½ Bob Mitcheson
Max Turner 1-0 Martin Shaw

Friday 25th January 2019

Forest Hall A 3.5-1.5 Tynemouth A

Posted by Lewis on January 12, 2019

Tim Wall 1-0 David Henderson
Yichen Han 1-0 Darren Laws
Caveh Madjdpour ½-½ John Clarke
Max Turner 1-0 Gary Cornwall
Zheming Zhang 0-1 Paul Edwards

Friday 11th January 2019

Forest Hall A 3.5-1.5 Jesmond Knights

Posted by Lewis on November 17, 2018

Tim Wall ½-½ Edward Dodds
Caveh Madjdpour 1-0 Andy Trevelyan
Zheming Zhang 0-1 John Turnock
Max Turner 1-0 Rob Archer
Stuart Skelsey 1-0 Toby James

Friday 16th November 2018

Gosforth Empire 2.5-2.5 Forest Hall A

Posted by Lewis on October 30, 2018

Andrew Lawson ½-½ Tim Wall
James Moreby ½-½ Yichen Han
Ray Devenney 0-1 Caveh Madjd-Pour
Mike McBeth ½-½ Zheming Zhang
Mick Riding 1-0 John Wall Jr

Monday 29th October 2018

Forest Hall A 4.5-0.5 Forest Hall B

Posted by Lewis on October 14, 2018

Tim Wall 1-0 Chris Goodall
Yichen Han ½-½ Mark Younger
Max Turner 1-0 Ravi Wariyar
Zheming Zhang 1-0 Mike Smith
John Wall Jr 1-0 Mark Broughton

Friday 12th October 2018