The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Leam Lane Comets 4-1 Tynedale Reivers

Posted by Lewis on October 14, 2015

Robert Forsythe 1-0 Peter Crighton
Jason Daglish 1-0 Derek Blair
Alan Young 1-0 Alex Ashworth
David Stewardson 1-0 Bruce Reid
Colin Mcgarty 0-1 Steve Larkin

Tuesday 13th October 2015

Tynemouth B 3-2 Tynemouth C

Posted by Lewis on October 14, 2015

Keith Rockett 1-0 Chris Smith
Dave Hair 0-1 Bill Penny
Dave Jarema 0-1 Lewis Self
John Morton 1-0 Bob Batten
Ray Garside 1-0 Joe Murray

Tuesday 13th October 2015

Gosforth Salters 3-2 Gosforth Ivy

Posted by Lewis on October 13, 2015

Geoff Harrison 1-0 Bob Heyman
John France ½-½ Dave Stebbins
Noel Boustred 1-0 Joe Chan
Martin Beardsley 0-1 Gary Clarke
Brian Ord ½-½ Tony Neville

Monday 12th October 2015

South Shields A 4-1 Leam Lane Aces

Posted by Lewis on October 8, 2015

John Boyd 0-1 David Walker
Joe Watson 1-0 Kyril Gara
Paul Bielby 1-0 John Marsh
Simon Mcguinness 1-0 Jason Daglish
Ian Maughan 1-0 Robert Forsyth

Thursday 08th October 2015

Gosforth Regents 0-5 Gosforth Empire

Posted by Lewis on October 7, 2015

Paul Costello 0-1 David Armbruster
Dave Baynes 0-1 Paul Janiak
Paul Sumner 0-1 Alan Harvey
Kurt Moreby 0-1 James Moreby
Martin Beardsley 0-1 Joe Dalton

Monday 05th October 2015

Morpeth A 2-3 Forest Hall Admirals

Posted by Lewis on October 7, 2015

Roger Coathup 1-0 Martin Seeber
James Turner ½-½ Manoj Arora
Les Whittle 0-1 Mark Younger
John Horton ½-½ Mike Smith
Phil Eastlake 0-1 Rolf Millar

Wednesday 07th October 2015

Tynemouth A 3-2 Durham City

Posted by Lewis on October 7, 2015

Clive Waters 1-0 Thomas Eggleston
David Henderson ½-½ Ken Neat
Mick Riding 0-1 Szymon Palucha
John Clarke ½-½ George Gazis
Gary Cornwall 1-0 Mauro Usai

Tuesday 06th October 2015

County Championship deadline

Posted by Lewis on October 3, 2015

Can I remind everyone that the County Championship deadline is today. Saturday the third of October, everyone who would like to enter the championship must enter before midnight tonight. Emails should go to

Northumberland Congress Report

Posted by Lewis on September 29, 2015

Well done to anyone who took part in this years Northumberland Congress. The winners from each section are:

Foundation – David Foster 7/10
Minor – Joe Chan 4½/5
Major – Gara Kyril 4½/5
Open – Charlie Storey & Daniel Abbas 4/5

Well done to everyone who played. I have attached a list of all the prize winners. Northumberland Congress 2015