The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Jesmond Knights 3.5-1.5 Leam Lane Aces

Posted by Lewis on November 2, 2015

Malola Prasath 0-1 David Walker
Edward Dodds 1-0 Kyrill Gara
John Turnock ½-½ John Marsh
Zheming Zhang 1-0 Robert Forsyth
Jesus Urresti 1-0 Alan Young

Friday 30th October 2015

Forest Hall Dragoons 2-3 Alnwick

Posted by Lewis on November 2, 2015

Mike Smith 1-0 George Ellames
Keith Brooks 0-1 Ralph Firth
Roy Perrier 1-0 Richard Perry
Oliver Wall 0-1 Joe Pharoah
Varna Boora 0-1 Michael Lowery

Wednesday 28th October 2015

South Shields C 1.5-3.5 Newcastle University

Posted by Lewis on October 30, 2015

Asanga Gunasekera 0-1 Rose Wabuti
Mike Savin ½-½ Michael Knight
Gary Hunter 1-0 Olly Higgs
Brendan Glasper 0-1 Jeremy Revell
Alan Blackburn 0-1 Ninara Mir-babayeva

Thursday 29th October 2015

Submit Result

Posted by Lewis on October 29, 2015

Just a small note that now on the submit result form instead of the email field being optional it’s now mandatory. Just so I know who to contact in case there’s something wrong with the submission.

Morpeth B 4-1 Forest Hall Chieftains

Posted by Lewis on October 29, 2015

Phil Eastlake 0-1 John Wall Snr
Geoff Loxham 1-0 Paul Charlton
Alan Welsh 1-0 Rolf Millar
Martin Shaw 1-0 Mark Broughton
Harry Robinson 1-0 John Wall Jnr

Wednesday 28th October 2015

Tynemouth D 5-0 Forest Hall Ensigns

Posted by Lewis on October 29, 2015

Phil Jackson 1-0 Manif Zaman
Dennis White 1-0 Tom Macallister
Bob Batten 1-0 Robert Hudson
Dennis Beagarie 1-0 Jamie Mcintosh
Peter Combellack 1-0 Weiming Xu

Tuesday 27th October 2015

Tynedale Reivers 1.5-3.5 South Shields B

Posted by Lewis on October 28, 2015

David Wrigley 1-0 Dave Patterson
Derek Blair 0-1 Kevin Rowden
Alex Ashworth ½-½ Colin Campbell
Phil Taylor 0-1 Eddie Czestochowski
David Scott 0-1 Ben Wood

Tuesday 27th October 2015

Tynemouth C 2-3 Gosforth Salters

Posted by Lewis on October 28, 2015

Chris Smith 0-1 Roy Bagnall
John Morton ½-½ Geoff Harrison
Bill Penny 0-1 Martin Beardsley
Lewis Self 1-0 Steve Wilde
Joe Murray ½-½ Brian Ord

Tuesday 27th October 2015

Gosforth Ivy 1.5-3.5 Leam Lane Comets

Posted by Lewis on October 27, 2015

Bob Heyman 0-1 Jason Daglish
Dave Stebbings ½-½ Alan Young
Gary Clarke 0-1 Dave Stewardson
Tony Neville ½-½ Colin Mcgarty
Dave Turner ½-½ Rob Appleby

Monday 26th October 2015

Forest Hall Admirals 1-4 Tynemouth A

Posted by Lewis on October 24, 2015

Martin Seeber 0-1 Clive Waters
Manoj Arora 0-1 David Henderson
Ravi Wariyar 0-1 John Clarke
Mark Younger 1-0 Gary Cornwall
Mike Smith 0-1 Darren Laws

Friday 23rd October 2015