The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Gosforth Ivy 3-2 Tynemouth C

Posted by Lewis on February 5, 2016

Michael Mcbeth 1-0 Chris Smith
Dave Stebbings 0-1 John Morton
Bob Heyman 1-0 Lewis Self
Kurt Moreby 1-0 Bill Penny
Joe Chan 0-1 Bob Batten

Monday 01st February 2016

Newcastle University 4-1 Forest Hall Dragoons

Posted by Lewis on February 5, 2016

Senan Almashta 1-0 Mike Smith
Michael Knight 0-1 Hanif Zaman
Jeremy Revell 1-0 Jacque Keal
Liam Heron 1-0 Dylan Shore
Petros Papaioannou 1-0 Tauvi Manchineni

Thursday 04th February 2016

Tynedale Reivers 2-3 Forest Hall Brigadiers

Posted by Lewis on February 5, 2016

Peter Chrichton ½-½ Jeff Bentham
Jeremy Hardley ½-½ Steve Black
Alex Ashworth 1-0 Rolf Millar
Steve Larkin 0-1 Steve Bowey
Phil Taylor 0-1 Jose Grueso

Tuesday 02nd February 2016

Leam Lane Comets 2-3 Tynemouth B

Posted by Lewis on February 2, 2016

Jason Daglish 1-0 Keith Rockett
Bob Forsythe ½-½ Dave Hair
Dave Stewardson 0-1 Dave Jarema
Colin Mcgarty ½-½ Dave Mear
Rob Appleby 0-1 Ray Garside

Tuesday 02nd February 2016

Gosforth Empire 2.5-2.5 Durham City

Posted by Lewis on February 1, 2016

David Armbruster ½-½ Thomas Eggleston
Paul Janiak 0-1 Ken Neat
Andy Lawson ½-½ Ian Watson
Alan Harvey ½-½ David Grant
James Moreby 1-0 Szymon Palucha

Tuesday 26th January 2016

South Shields C 4-1 Forest Hall Ensigns

Posted by Lewis on February 1, 2016

Dominik Schwarz 1-0 Roy Perrier
Ben Wood 0-1 John Wall Jnr
Stan Johnson 1-0 Jamie Mcintosh
Mike Savin 1-0 Xu Weiming
Brendan Glasper 1-0 David Ridley

Thursday 28th January 2016

Morpeth A 4.5-0.5 Jesmond Rookies

Posted by Lewis on January 27, 2016

Roger Coathup 1-0 Zheming Zhang
Mike Smyth 1-0 Jesus Urresti
James Turner 1-0 Robert Archer
Darren Laws 1-0 Andy Trevelyan
Les Whittle ½-½ Dave Walshaw

Wednesday 27th January 2016

Tynedale Tans 4.5-0.5 Leam Lane Aces

Posted by Lewis on January 27, 2016

Klauss Mosnegutu 1-0 David Walker
Mariana Mosnegutu 1-0 Kirill Gara
David Wrigley 1-0 John Marsh
Gary Murphy 1-0 Jason Daglish
Alex Ashworth ½-½ Alan Young

Tuesday 26th January 2016

Gosforth Regents 1-4 Jesmond Knights

Posted by Lewis on January 27, 2016

Joe Dalton ½-½ Chris Izod
John Wheeler ½-½ Ed Dodds
Josh Fernandes 0-1 John Turnock
Paul Sumner 0-1 Chris Wardle
Dave Baynes 0-1 Dave Walshaw

Monday 25th January 2016

Forest Hall Dragoons 2.5-2.5 Tynemouth D

Posted by Lewis on January 23, 2016

Mark Broughton 1-0 Richard Oxnard
Johnny Wall 1-0 Dennis White
Robert Hudson 0-1 Bob Batten
Jaque Keal 0-1 Dennis Beagarie
Oliver Wall ½-½ Peter Combellack

Friday 22nd January 2016