The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Forest Hall Admirals 2.5-2.5 Leam Lane Aces

Posted by Lewis on December 16, 2015

Manoj Arora 0-1 Nick Tavoularis
Mark Younger 1-0 John Marsh
Mike Smith 1-0 Jason Daglish
Jeff Bentham ½-½ Alan Young
Rolf Millan 0-1 Anu Chandra

Tuesday 15th December 2015

Gosforth Regents 2.5-2.5 South Shields A

Posted by Lewis on December 15, 2015

Andrew Lawson 1-0 John Boyd
Joe Dalton 0-1 Joe Watson
John Wheeler 0-1 Paul Bielby
Josh Ferdandes ½-½ Simon Mcguinness
Dave Baynes 1-0 Ian Maughan

Monday 14th December 2015

South Shields B 3-2 Forest Hall Brigadiers

Posted by Lewis on December 14, 2015

Brian Towers ½-½ J Bentham
Dave Patterson 1-0 Rolf Millar
Kevin Rowden ½-½ Steve Bowey
Colin Campbell 1-0 Dennis Shippen
Asanga Gunasekera 0-1 Tom Mcallister

Thursday 10th December 2015

Forest Hall Ensigns 3-2 South Shields C

Posted by Lewis on December 14, 2015

Roy Perrier 1-0 Dominik Schwarz
Jeff P Baird ½-½ Ben Wood
John Wall Junior ½-½ Stan Johnson
Xu Weiming 0-1 Gary Hunter
Jamie Mcintosh 1-0 Brendan Glasper

Friday 11th December 2015

Newcastle University 1-4 Alnwick

Posted by Lewis on December 11, 2015

Michael Knight 0-1 George Ellames
Olly Higgs 0-1 Ralph Firth
Jeremy Revell 1-0 Richard Perry
Liam Heron 0-1 Joe Pharoah
Default 0-1 Vincent Cowley

Wednesday 09th December 2015

Tynemouth C 1-4 South Shields B

Posted by Lewis on December 9, 2015

Chris Smith ½-½ Brian Towers
John Morton ½-½ Kevin Rowden
Bill Penny 0-1 Colin Campbell
Phil Jackson 0-1 Ben Wood
Joe Murrey 0-1 Stan Johnson

Tuesday 24th November 2015

Tynemouth D 2.5-2.5 Forest Hall Dragoons

Posted by Lewis on December 9, 2015

Richard Oxnard ½-½ Mike Smith
Phil Jackson 1-0 Manif Zaman
Bob Batten 0-1 Mark Broughton
Dennis Beagarie 0-1 Robert Hudson
Peter Combellack 1-0 Jacque Keal

Tuesday 08th December 2015

Tynedale Reivers 3.5-1.5 Gosforth Ivy

Posted by Lewis on December 9, 2015

Tim Wrigley ½-½ Dave Stebbings
Peter Crichton ½-½ Jonathan Fallman
Derek Blair 1-0 Joe Chan
Bruce Reed ½-½ Gary Clarke
Steve Larkin 1-0 Tony Neville

Tuesday 08th December 2015

Leam Lane Comets 2.5-2.5 Morpeth B

Posted by Lewis on December 9, 2015

Jason Daglish 0-1 Phil Eastlake
Alan Young 1-0 Alan Welsh
David Stewartson ½-½ Robert Mitcheson
Colin Mcgarty 0-1 Martin Shaw
Rob Appleby 1-0 David Watson

Tuesday 08th December 2015

Gosforth Salters 2.5-2.5 Forest Hall Chieftains

Posted by Lewis on December 8, 2015

Roy Bagnall ½-½ Ravi Wariyar
Geoff Harrison ½-½ John Wall Snr
John France ½-½ Paul Charlton
Martin Beardsley 1-0 Keith Brooks
Brian Ord 0-1 Johnny Wall Jnr

Monday 07th December 2015