The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Tynemouth C 0.5-4.5 Tynedale Reivers

Posted by Lewis on January 20, 2016

Chris Smith 0-1 Peter Crichton
John Marton 0-1 Aex Ashworth
Bill Penny 0-1 Bruce Reed
Lewis Self 0-1 Steve Larkin
Joe Murray ½-½ Phil Taylor

Tuesday 19th January 2016

Tynemouth B 2-3 Gosforth Salters

Posted by Lewis on January 20, 2016

Keith Rockett ½-½ Roy Bagnall
Dave Jarema 0-1 Geoff Harrison
Steve Burnell ½-½ John France
Dave Mear 0-1 Martin Beardsley
Ray Garside 1-0 Brian Ord

Tuesday 19th January 2016

Jesmond Rookies 1.5-3.5 Gosforth Regents

Posted by Lewis on January 19, 2016

Rob Archer 0-1 Andy Lawson
Andy Travelyan 0-1 Joe Dalton
Steve Aitchison 0-1 Josh Fernandes
Dave Walshaw ½-½ Paul Sumner
Liam Dobson 1-0 Dave Baynes

Friday 15th January 2016

Jesmond Knights 2.5-2.5 Tynedale Tans

Posted by Lewis on January 16, 2016

Chris Izod ½-½ Mariana Mosnegutu
Malola Prasath ½-½ Gary Murphy
Edward Dodds ½-½ Tim Wrigley
John Turnock 1-0 Jeremy Handley
Zheming Zhang 0-1 Alex Ashworth

Friday 15th January 2016

South Shields A 2-3 Morpeth A

Posted by Lewis on January 15, 2016

John Boyd ½-½ Roger Coathup
Joe Watson ½-½ Mike Smyth
Paul Bielby 1-0 James Turner
Simon Mcguinness 0-1 Darren Laws
Ian Maughan 0-1 Les Whittle

Wednesday 14th January 2015

Durham City 5-0 Forest Hall Admirals

Posted by Lewis on January 13, 2016

Thomas Eggleston 1-0 Martin Seeber
Ken Neat 1-0 Manos Arora
Szymon Palucha 1-0 Mark Younger
George Gazis 1-0 Mike Smith
Ian Dobbs 1-0 Rolf Millar

Wednesday 13th January 2016

Gateshead 2.5-2.5 Tynemouth C

Posted by Lewis on January 13, 2016

Peter Wells 0-1 Christian Smith
Gagik Abaryan 1-0 John Morton
Bill Noble 1-0 Bill Penny
Alex Johnson ½-½ Lewis Self
Nikolaus Litvisko 0-1 Dennis Beagarie

Tuesday 15th December 2015

Leam Lane Aces 2-3 Gosforth Empire

Posted by Lewis on January 13, 2016

David Walker 1-0 David Armbruster
Nick Tavoularis 1-0 Paul Janiak
Kirill Gara 0-1 Alan Harvey
John Marsh 0-1 James Moreby
Jason Daglish 0-1 Michael Mcbeth

Tuesday 12th January 2016

Durham City 4.5-0.5 Jesmond Knights

Posted by Lewis on January 11, 2016

Thomas Eggleston 1-0 Chris Izod
Ken Neat 1-0 Edward Dodds
Szymon Palucha ½-½ Zheming Zhang
George Gazis 1-0 Jesus Urresti
Josh Cavendish 1-0 Andy Trevelyan

Tuesday 17th November 2015

County Championship Round 4 Fixtures

Posted by Lewis on January 8, 2016

The County Championship Round 4 draw has been made. All of the 3rd round matches have now been played and all of the results have been uploaded to This has enabled the County Championship Round 4 draw to be made a few days early.

All of the 4th round pairings for all of the sections have been uploaded to which can be accessed on the main navigation under county championships > county championship sections, You can then click on the relevant section you want to view.

Please also note that the closing date for the 4th round is Saturday 6th February 2016.