The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Alnwick B 0.5-4.5 Forest Hall Ensigns

Posted by Lewis on November 13, 2016

R Firth ½-½ R Perrier
M Sergeant 0-1 A Brodie
V Cowley 0-1 K Brooks
C Cox 0-1 T Mc Allister
J Helmsley 0-1 R Hudson

Wednesday 09th November 2016

Morpeth A 3.5-1.5 Leam Lane Aces

Posted by Lewis on November 10, 2016

Roger Coathup ½-½ David Walker
Mike Smith 1-0 Kirill Gara
James Turner 0-1 John Marsh
Phil Eastlake 1-0 Alan Young
Les Whitle 1-0 Jason Daglish

Wednesday 09th November 2016

Gosforth E 3-2 South Shields C

Posted by Lewis on November 10, 2016

Noel Boustred ½-½ Ben Wood
Joe Chan 1-0 Stan Johnson
Steve Wild 1-0 Gary Hunter
Tony Neville ½-½ Mike Savin
Brian Ord 0-1 Brendan Glasper

Monday 07th November 2016

Morpeth C 0.5-4.5 Forest Hall Dragoons

Posted by Lewis on November 10, 2016

Dennis Patterson 0-1 Steve Bowey
David Watson ½-½ Jeff Baird
Barrie Crowther 0-1 Rolf Millar
Andrew Levy 0-1 Mark Broughton
David Armstrong 0-1 Jamie Mcintosh

Wednesday 09th November 2016

Eligibility after week 3-4

Posted by Chris Goodall on November 6, 2016

Black – player is tied to this team
Red italics – player has used up their 1 free game on board 3 for this team
Underlined: changes from the previous eligibility list

Alnwick A: P Hemsley, P Castledine, G EllamesR Firth

Forest Hall Admirals: T Wall, Z Zhang, M Seeber
Forest Hall Brigadiers: S Skelsey, M Arora, J Wall snr
Forest Hall Chieftains: Y Han, M Smith, H Zaman
Forest Hall Dragoons: J Bentham, S Bowey, J Baird
Forest Hall Ensigns: R Perrier, A Brodie, T McAllister

Gosforth Regents: M McBeth, D Baynes, J France
Gosforth Salters: G Harrison, K Moreby, P Sumner, D Stebbings
Gosforth Ivy: E Jarah, R Heyman, A Neville

Jesmond Knights: M Prasath, E Dodds, J Turnock

Leam Lane Aces: D Walker, K Gara, J Marsh

Morpeth A: R Coathup, M Smyth, R Symonds
Morpeth B: J Turner, R Mitcheson, G LoxhamJ Horton, L Whittle

South Shields A: J Watson, P Niedbal, P Bielby
South Shields B: B Towers, D Patterson, K Rowden

Tynedale Tans: K Mosnegutu, M Mosnegutu, T Wrigley

Tynemouth A: C Waters, P Dargan, M Riding
Tynemouth B: K Rockett, D Jarema, S Burnell
Tynemouth C: C Smith, L Self, W Penny

Forest Hall Brigadiers 3-2 Gateshead

Posted by Lewis on November 5, 2016

Stuart Skelsey 1-0 Peter Wells
Manoj Arora 1-0 Bill Noble
John Wall Snr 1-0 Nikolaus Litvisko
Paul Charlton 0-1 Denise Mosse
Johnny Wall Jnr 0-1 Alex Johnson

Friday 04th November 2016

Jesmond Rookies 3.5-1.5 Gosforth Salters

Posted by Lewis on November 4, 2016

John Turnock 1-0 Paul Sumner
Andy Trevelyan ½-½ Geoff Harrison
Rob Archer ½-½ Dave Stebbing
Dave Walshaw 1-0 Joe Chan
Liam Dobson ½-½ Martyn Beardsley

Friday 28th October 2016

Alnwick A 2.5-2.5 Tynemouth B

Posted by Lewis on November 4, 2016

Phil Hemsley 1-0 Keith Rockett
George Ellames ½-½ David Jarema
Paul Castledine 0-1 Steve Burnell
Ralph Firth ½-½ Dave Hair
Joe Pharoah ½-½ Ray Garside

Wednesday 02nd November 2016

Leam Lane Bullets 0.5-4.5 Morpeth B

Posted by Lewis on November 2, 2016

Jason Daglish 0-1 James Turner
Dave Stewardson 0-1 Bob Mitcheson
Rob Appleby 0-1 Les Whittle
Colin Mcgarty 0-1 John Horton
Clive Briggs ½-½ Harry Robinson

Tuesday 01st November 2016

South Shields B 0-5 Durham City

Posted by Lewis on October 29, 2016

Brian Towers 0-1 Thomas Eggliston
Dave Patterson 0-1 P Bergner
Kevin Rowden 0-1 Ken Neat
Colin Campbell 0-1 Szymon Palucha
Dominik Schwarz 0-1 Robin Nandi

Thursday 27th October 2016