The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Tynemouth C 0.5-4.5 Forest Hall Chieftains

Posted by Lewis on April 6, 2016

Chris Smith 0-1 Ravi Wariyar
John Morton ½-½ Mike Smith
Lewis Self 0-1 Stuart Skelsey
Dennis White 0-1 Roy Perrier
Joe Murray 0-1 Johnny Wall Jnr

Tuesday 05th April 2016

Northumberland Chess Congress

Posted by Lewis on March 24, 2016

The Northumberland Congress will be held from Friday 23rd September 2016 until Sunday 25th September 2016. The ECF Jan 2016 grading list will be used for entries but Aug 2016 for pairing. Again, the open will be FIDE rated. The Congress will be held at:

The Parks Leisure Centre,
Howdon Road,
Royal Quays
North Shields,
North Tyneside,
NE29 6TL

For more information Download The Entry Form

Jesmond Rookies 2.5-2.5 Tynemouth A

Posted by Lewis on March 22, 2016

Zheming Zhang 0-1 Clive Waters
Jesus Urresti 1-0 David Henderson
Robert Archer 0-1 Mike Riding
Andy Trevelyandave 1-0 John Clarke
Dave Walshaw ½-½ Gary Cornwall

Friday 18th March 2016

Forest Hall Chieftains 2.5-2.5 Gosforth Ivy

Posted by Lewis on March 22, 2016

Mike Smith 0-1 Michael Mcbeth
John Wall Snr 0-1 Bob Heyman
Paul Charlton ½-½ Kurt Moreby
Roy Perrier 1-0 Tony Neville
John Wall Jnr 1-0 Gary Clarke

Friday 18th March 2016

South Shields C 3-2 Forest Hall Dragoons

Posted by Lewis on March 22, 2016

Stan Johnson 0-1 Mike Smith
Gary Hunter 1-0 Mark Broughton
Brendan Glasper 0-1 Charlie Mooney
Alan Blackburn 1-0 Jacob Danniker
Brian Telford 1-0 Def

Thursday 17th March 2016

Tynemouth D 2.5-2.5 Alnwick

Posted by Lewis on March 17, 2016

Richard Oxnard ½-½ George Ellames
Denis White ½-½ Ralph Firth
Bob Batten 0-1 Joe Pharoah
Dennis Beagarie 1-0 Vincent Cowley
Peter Combellack ½-½ Michael Sergeant

Wednesday 16th March 2016

Morpeth B 3-2 Tynemouth C

Posted by Lewis on March 17, 2016

John Horton 0-1 Chris Smith
Alan Welsh 1-0 John Morton
Robert Mitcheson ½-½ Lewis Self
Harry Robinson 1-0 Bill Penny
David Watson ½-½ Joe Murray

Wednesday 16th March 2016

Gosforth Salters 2.5-2.5 Gateshead

Posted by Lewis on March 16, 2016

Geoff Harrison 0-1 Kevin Cox
John France 1-0 Peter Wells
Noel Boustred 1-0 Gagik Abaryan
Martin Beardsley 0-1 Bill Noble
Brian Ord ½-½ Alex Johnson

Monday 14th March 2016

Leam Lane Comets 1.5-3.5 South Shields B

Posted by Lewis on March 16, 2016

Jason Daglish ½-½ Brian Towers
Alan Young 0-1 Dave Patterson
Dave Stewardson ½-½ Kevin Rowden
Rob Appleby ½-½ Colin Campbell
Clive Briggs 0-1 Dominik Schwarz

Tuesday 15th March 2016