FIDE-rated Northumbria Blitz Championship: Feb 3, 2018

Posted by Tim Wall on January 26, 2018

Everyone is cordially invited to play in the FIDE-rated Northumbria Blitz Championship!

Date: Saturday 3rd February, 2018. Start: 1pm Finish: 5pm

Venue: The Chillingham pub function room, 86 Chillingham Road, Heaton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5XL.

Time control: 5 minutes plus 2 seconds per move. Entry fee: £2 per player.


75% of total entry fees will be returned as prizes. Any proceeds will go towards supporting the Northumbria Masters, which is taking place at The Chillingham on February 14-18.

Games will count towards your FIDE Blitz Rating! (To enter, you either need a FIDE ID Code or be affiliated to the English Chess Federation.)

To book your place, simply email Tim Wall on or text him on 0750 372 2366

For more info, go to:

South Shields A 0.5-4.5 Durham City

Posted by Lewis on January 26, 2018

John Boyd 0-1 Thomas Eggleston
Yaroslav Kolodiy 0-1 Ken Neat
Paul Bielby 0-1 Szymon Palucha
Brian Towers ½-½ Douglas Smith
Ian Maughan 0-1 Robin Nandi

Thursday 25th January 2018

South Shields C 1.5-3.5 Gosforth V

Posted by Lewis on January 25, 2018

Colin Vampbell 0-1 Noel Boustred
Chris Sayers 0-1 Joe Chan
Asanga Gunasekera ½-½ Gary Clarke
Mike Savin ½-½ Steve Wilde
Ben Wood ½-½ Tony Neville

Thursday 25th January 2018

South Shields D 3-2 Forest Hall F

Posted by Lewis on January 25, 2018

Gary Hunter ½-½ Weiming Xu
Stan Johnson 0-1 Ciaran Macdonald
Allan Blackburn ½-½ Ian Toward
Tim Wilton-Davies 1-0 Tanvi Manchineni
Jay Steel 0-1 Ryan Duff

Due to eligibility, Ryan Duff has defaulted board 5

Thursday 25th January 2018

Tynemouth C 3.5-1.5 Alnwick A

Posted by Lewis on January 24, 2018

Alex Mcfarlane 0-1 George Ellames
Gary Cornwall 1-0 Ralph Firth
Christian Smith 1-0 Paul Castledine
Lewis Self 1-0 Richard Perry
Joe Murray ½-½ Isaac Mills

Wednesday 24th January 2018

Forest Hall Admirals 3-2 Leam Lane Aces

Posted by Lewis on January 23, 2018

Tim Wall 0-1 David Walker
Caveh Madjdpour 1-0 Kirill Gara
Zheming Zhang ½-½ John Marsh
Yichen Han 1-0 Alan Young
Stuart Skelsey ½-½ Anu Chandra

Monday 22nd January 2018

Gosforth Empire 4.5-0.5 Morpeth A

Posted by Lewis on January 22, 2018

Andrew Lawson 1-0 Roger Coathup
James Moreby 1-0 Mike Smyth
Joseph Dalton 1-0 Richard Symonds
Michael McBeth ½-½ James Turner
Mick Riding 1-0 Alan Welsh

Monday 22nd January 2018

Tynemouth A 3-2 Tynedale Tans

Posted by Lewis on January 22, 2018

Paul Dargan ½-½ Gary Murphy
David Henderson ½-½ David Wrigley
Darren Laws ½-½ Tim Wrigley
John Clarke ½-½ Peter Crichton
Gary Cornwall 1-0 Dave Humphreys

Monday 22nd January 2018

Forest Hall Chieftains 2.5-2.5 Tynemouth B

Posted by Lewis on January 19, 2018

Stuart Skelsey ½-½ Keith Rockett
Johnny Wall Jnr ½-½ Steve Burnell
Mark Broughton 0-1 Dave Jarema
Paul Charlton 1-0 Dennis White
John Wall Snr ½-½ Ray Garside

Friday 19th January 2018

Gateshead 1-4 Tynemouth C

Posted by Lewis on January 18, 2018

Denise Mosse 0-1 Gary Cornwall
Bill Noble ½-½ Christian Smith
Peter Wells 0-1 John Morton
Alex Johnson ½-½ Phil Jackson
Asa Bayram 0-1 Joe Murray

Thursday 18th January 2018