The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Gosforth Woodbines 1-4 Forest Hall E

Posted by Lewis on March 8, 2019

Noel Boulstred ½-½ Stephen Bowey
Bob Heyman 0-1 Rolf Millar
T Jarah ½-½ Jeff Baird
Steven Wilde 0-1 Jeff Bentham
Brian Ord 0-1 Weiming Xu

Monday 4th March 2019

Tynemouth D 4-1 Alnwick

Posted by Lewis on March 7, 2019

Richard Oxnard 0-1 George Ellames
Dennis White 1-0 Ralph Firth
Joe Murray 1-0 Richard Perry
Andrew Perella 1-0 Vincent Cowley
Paul Richardson 1-0 Denis Patterson

Wednesday 6th March 2019

Morpeth A 2-3 Forest Hall A

Posted by Lewis on March 6, 2019

Roger Coathup 0-1 Tim Wall
Mike Smyth 1-0 Caveh Madjdpour
James Turner ½-½ Zheming Zhang
Alan Welsh 0-1 Chris Goodall
Geoff Loxham ½-½ John Newberry

Wednesday 6th March 2019

Leam Lane Aces 2-3 Tynemouth A

Posted by Lewis on March 5, 2019

David Walker ½-½ Paul Dargan
Graeme Oswald 1-0 David Henderson
Kirill Gara 0-1 Darren Laws
Jason Dalglish ½-½ John Clarke
John Marsh 0-1 Gary Cornwall

Tuesday 5th March 2019

Northumbria Masters: 23-27 August, 2019

Posted by Tim Wall on March 5, 2019

Online entries are now being accepted for the Northumbria Masters 2019, which will take place at a superb new venue, Novotel Newcastle Airport, on 23-27 August, 2019.

There are 3 FIDE-rated tournaments, each of 9 rounds: Northumbria Masters, Challengers (Under 2050 FIDE, 180 ECF) & Major (Under 1825, 150 ECF). In addition, there is a one-day Junior Rapidplay on Friday 23 August. The total prize fund for all events is £5,100, thanks to generous sponsorship from Capital Bridging Finance Solutions, the English Chess Federation and Northumberland Chess Association. To take advantage of special room rates at Novotel Newcastle Airport (£69 single occupancy, £79 double occupancy) book via:

You can download a copy of the entry form via the ECF website. More info is available from (now live).



Gosforth Empire 2.5-2.5 Jesmond Knights

Posted by Lewis on March 5, 2019

Andy Lawson ½-½ Chris Izod
Mick Riding ½-½ Ed Dodds
Mike McBeth 0-1 Andy Trevelyan
John Wheeler ½-½ John Turnock
Ray Devenney 1-0 S Trevelyan

Monday 4th March 2019

Forest Hall B 2.5-2.5 Gosforth Empire

Posted by Lewis on March 2, 2019

Max Turner 1-0 James Moreby
Zheming Zhang 0-1 Andrew Lawson
John Newberry ½-½ Mick Riding
Mike Smith 1-0 Ray Devenney
Mark Younger 0-1 Dave Stebbings

Saturday 2nd March 2019

Forest Hall C 3-2 Tynemouth B

Posted by Lewis on March 2, 2019

Ravi Wariyar 1-0 Keith Rockett
Johnny Wall (Jnr) ½-½ Dave Jarema
Ciaran Macdonald ½-½ Steve Burnell
Paul Charlton ½-½ Dave Hair
John Wall (Snr) ½-½ Dennis White

Friday 1st March 2019

Gateshead 4-1 Forest Hall F

Posted by Lewis on March 1, 2019

Kevin Cox 1-0 Jeff Bentham
Bill Noble 1-0 Roy Perrier
Peter Wells 0-1 Ryan Duff
Alex Johnson 1-0 Morgan French
Asa Bayram 1-0 Matthew Jepon

Thursday 28th February 2019

South Shields B 2.5-2.5 Tynedale

Posted by Lewis on March 1, 2019

Brian Towers 1-0 Derek Harris
Kevin Rowden ½-½ Tim Wrigley
Dave Patterson 0-1 James Ross
Konstantinos Decidimonous 1-0 Ian Mackay
Eddie Czestochowski 0-1 Peter Crichton

Friday 1st March 2019