Tynedale Reivers 3-2 Tynemouth C

Posted by Lewis on February 16, 2018

Peter Crichton ½-½ Gary Cornwall
Ian Mackay 0-1 Christian Smith
Steve Larkin ½-½ Dennis White
Bruce Reed 1-0 Philip Jackson
Christine Moorcroft 1-0 Joe Murray

Thursday 15th February 2018

Gateshead 1.5-3.5 Tynemouth B

Posted by Lewis on February 15, 2018

Kevin Cox 0-1 Keith Rockett
Denise Mosse ½-½ Steve Burnell
Bill Noble 0-1 Dave Hair
Peter Wells ½-½ Dave Jerema
Asa Bayram ½-½ Ray Garside

Thursday 15th February 2018

Durham City 4-1 Gosforth Salters

Posted by Lewis on February 15, 2018

Andy Horton 1-0 Taka Chipanga
Thomas Eggleston 1-0 Michael McBeth
Ken Neat 1-0 John Wheeler
Szymon Palucha 1-0 Geoff Harrison
George Gazis 0-1 Paul Sumner

Wednesday 14th February 2018

Northumbria Masters Live!

Posted by Lewis on February 14, 2018

The Northumbria Masters tournament starts this evening. The event is a nine-round FIDE-rated Swiss which will have opportunities for international title norms, including for GM and IM, and now has a total prize fund of £3,150. The tournament is aimed at bringing top-class chess to the North East for the first time since the British Championships were held in North Shields in 2012. The event’s first round starts at 18:30. If you wish to follow the live games, Forrest Hall’s website is broadcasting them.

Gosforth Regents 3.5-1.5 South Shields B

Posted by Lewis on February 13, 2018

David Stebbings 0-1 Brian Towers
David Baynes 1-0 Kevin Rowden
Martin Beardsley 1-0 Eddie Czestochowskl
Kurt Moreby 1-0 Stan Johnson
Paul Costello ½-½ Asanga Gunasekera

Monday 12th February 2018

Gosforth V 3.5-1.5 Leam Lane Bullets

Posted by Lewis on February 12, 2018

Noel Boustred 0-1 Alan Young
Joe Chan 1-0 Dave Stewardson
Gary Clarke ½-½ Rob Appleby
Steve Wilde 1-0 Joe Miller
Brian Ord 1-0 Default

Monday 12th February 2018

Forest Hall F 1.5-3.5 Forest Hall Ensigns

Posted by Lewis on February 10, 2018

Weiming Xu 0-1 Ian Rook
Cairan McDonald ½-½ Alex Brodie
Oliver Wall 1-0 Kuba Jacvbowicz
Sai Chinmayee Kumaar 0-1 Keith Brooks
Tanvi Manchineni 0-1 Ryan Duff

Friday 9th February 2018

Northumberland Chess League

Posted by Lewis on February 9, 2018

The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2017-18 the league has 33 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email info@northumberlandchess.com.

Curious how a chess league works? You can now follow @ncaleague on Twitter.

To see your favourite team’s results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you’re looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted – so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Northumberland Chess Team Captains

To submit results, use the Submit Result button, where you will find further instructions. The website will now automatically update the results and league table when you submit a result. If you make a mistake, email info@northumberlandchess.com and it will be corrected as soon as possible.

Website Suggestions

Posted by Lewis on February 9, 2018

Once the current season is out I want to update the website a little to make it easier for players to find the information they need. Currently the website displays very poorly on anything but a desktop computer so I think the main focus will be on responsive design for people who use tablets and mobiles. I want to take this opportunity to ask anyone for their input on how the website can be improved which I can take into consideration. If anyone wants to give their feedback or ideas you can use the form below.

County Championship Round 4 Results (2017-18)

Posted by Lewis on February 9, 2018


19Han Yichen1780 – 1Moreby James2063
24Coathup Roger19720 – 12Walker David2131
32Wall Tim2082½ – ½2Dargan Paul1955
46Boyd John1911 – 0Riding Mick17210
512Skelsey Stuart16610 – 11Henderson David1917
68Zhang Zheming18411 – 0½Trevelyan Andy16911
713Robson Paul161½HP-HP1Arora Manoj14414


11Laws Darren16830 – 13Bielby Paul1672
213Arora Manoj1442 – – +2Smith Mike1535
315Clarke John14121 – 02Rowden Kevin1479
48Wall (Jnr) John148½ – ½Marsh John1544
511France John145HP-HPWalshaw David14414
612Smith Christian1451½ – ½1Mitcheson Robert1526
77Younger Mark1501½ – ½½Burnell Steve14610
83Robson Paul161½1bye


15Rook Ian128½ – ½Baird Jeff1237
21Cox Kevin1362½ – ½2Moreby Kurt1313
312Appleby Rob932– – +2Czestochowski Eddie1342
411Gunasekera Asanga1020 – 1Noble William1266
59Xu Weiming11311 – 0Heyman Bob1208
614Miller Joe8010 – 11Johnson Stan11110
713Glasper Brendan8401bye