Tynemouth A have done it

This has been the strongest Division 1 ever. With twelve players graded 200+ and a FIDE master appearing on a board 3, we are challenging Birmingham and Surrey for the title of England’s second-strongest chess league. And Tynemouth A, with Dave Henderson’s 182 on top board, have Leicester City-ed it. Their amazing act of teamwork can be summed up in one number: 24. There were 24 individual games, either won or drawn by the Tynemouth player, whose loss would have been enough to give the title to Gosforth. It’s Tynemouth’s first title since 2004, and the previous champion has been dethroned for the fifth year in a row. Congratulations to David Henderson, Paul Dargan, Clive Waters, Gary Cornwall, Darren Laws, John Clarke, and guest stars Paul Edwards and Steve Burnell.

In other news:

  • Ivy have won Division 2
  • Tynemouth D are promoted from Division 3, but haven’t won it yet
  • Don’t be offended if a player declines to shake hands with you before a game

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.