The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2018-19 the league has 30 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

To see your favourite team's results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you're looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted - so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

County Championship Round 5

Posted by David Walker on February 9, 2019

The draw for round 5 of the county championships is available on Chess-Results:

Games played in previous rounds are also available from these links.

2018-19 County Championships

Posted by Lewis on August 20, 2018

The Northumberland Chess Association (NCA) individual championships are open to players who are registered with the NCA and are members of the English Chess Federation (ECF).

There are three sections, each consisting of a seven round tournament with successive rounds typically starting four weeks apart.

  • Zollner – no grading limit.
  • Sell – ECF grading under 170.
  • Gilroy – ECF grading under 140.

Gradings are as in the August 2018 revision of the ECF grading list. Ungraded players who wish to enter a grading-limited section should provide evidence of playing strength when entering.

Entry is free.

To enter, email the following details to

  • Name
  • Section(s) to enter (max 2)
  • Email address
  • Telephone
  • NCA club

Entries must arrive on or before Saturday 29th September 2018.

The draw for round 1 will be published on Sunday 30th September 2018. Entrants will be sent contact details for their opponent to allow them to arrange their game on a mutually acceptable date.

Zollner Playoff

Posted by Lewis on May 30, 2018

Game 1 – David Walker 1-0 James Moreby
Game 2 – James Moreby ½-½ David Walker

So I’m pleased to be able to announce that the winner of this years Zollner and County Champion for the year is David Walker. Well done, David!

This concludes this years County Championships. Thanks to all for competing and watching!

County Championship 2017-18 Results

Posted by Lewis on May 21, 2018

All of the games from the 7th and final round of this year’s County Championship have now been played. An interesting statistic this season is that around 90% of those of you that played in the previous year entered again. And the other 10% had understandable reasons for not entering this year such as the arrival of babies!

This season we welcomed a collection of new players to these competitions that haven’t played in the last few years: David Walker, Paul Robson, Paul Bielby, Kevin Rowden, Ian Rook, Brendan Glasper and Joe Miller. These new players injected a significant level of further competition and helped to continue the year on year improvement in the playing strength of each section.

All of the sections within this year’s County Championship progressed in reasonable alignment with the tournament schedule and we would like to thank each and everyone of you for enabling this to be achieved.

A final thank you to Kurt Moreby for organising the county championship this year. Well done for organising another successful year.

Both the Sell and Gilroy have been won by octogenarians. The Sell was dominated by Paul Bielby who scored an impressive 6.5 out of 7. The Gilroy was won, yet again, by Bill Noble after a last round victory against Eddie Czestochowski. This year’s Zollner is not yet concluded with James Moreby and David Walker both finishing on 5 points.

Here are the Final Ranking Tables (after the application of tie-break rules (BH score below) so that you can all see exactly where you finished).

2.1 Northumberland County Championship Zollner 2017-18
Final Ranking after 7 Rounds
13Moreby James206527
21Walker David213525½
35Dargan Paul19527
42Wall Tim208428½
59Han Yichen178427
64Coathup Roger197426
77Henderson David191422½
86Boyd John19125
910Riding  Mick17225
108Zhang Zheming184325
1113Robson Paul161320
1211Trevelyan Andy16918½
1312Skelsey Stuart166223
1414Arora Manoj144122½
2.2 Northumberland County Championship Sell 2017-18
Final Ranking after 7 Rounds
12Bielby Paul16725½
215Clarke John14128
31Laws Darren168527½
45Smith Mike153429
512Smith Christian145421½
614Walshaw David14426½
74Marsh John15424
89Rowden Kevin14724
97Younger Mark15023
108Wall (Jnr) John14822
116Mitcheson  Robert15220½
1210Burnell  Steve146320
1313Arora Manoj144227½
1411France John14522
153Robson Paul16121
2.3 Northumberland County Championship Gilroy 2017-18
Final Ranking after 7 Rounds
16Noble William12625½
25Rook Ian12828
32Czestochowski Eddie13428
47Baird Jeff12326½
53Moreby Kurt131427½
611Gunasekera Asanga102424
710Johnson Stan11124½
81Cox Kevin13624
99Xu Weiming11321
1014Miller Joe8020
118Heyman Bob120323½
1212Appleby Rob9324
1313Glasper Brendan84222


County Championship Round 7 Results (2017-18)

Posted by Lewis on May 15, 2018


13Moreby James20650 – 1Dargan Paul1955
21Walker David21341 – 04Wall Tim2082
37Henderson David191½ – ½3Riding Mick17210
48Zhang Zheming18430 – 13Coathup Roger1974
513Robson Paul16130 – 13Han Yichen1789
612Skelsey Stuart16620 – 1Boyd John1916
711Trevelyan Andy1691bye


114Walshaw David1440 – 1Bielby Paul1672
212Smith Christian14531 – 05Laws Darren1681
315Clarke John1411 – 04Smith Mike1535
48Wall (Jnr) John1483½ – ½3Mitcheson Robert1526
59Rowden Kevin1473½ – ½Burnell Steve14610
67Younger Mark1501 – 0Robson Paul1613
74Marsh John1541bye


16Noble William1261 – 0Czestochowski Eddie1342
23Moreby Kurt13140 – 1Rook Ian1285
37Baird Jeff1234½ – ½3Johnson Stan11110
411Gunasekera Asanga10231 – 0Cox Kevin1361
58Heyman Bob120½ – ½3Miller Joe8014
613Glasper Brendan84½ – ½2Appleby Rob9312
79Xu Weiming1131bye

County Championship Round 6 Results (2017-18)

Posted by Lewis on April 11, 2018


12Wall Tim208½ – ½Moreby James2063
21Walker David21331 – 0Dargan Paul1955
39Han Yichen178½ – ½3Henderson David1917
48Zhang Zheming184½ – ½Robson Paul16113
54Coathup Roger19721 – 0Boyd John1916
610Riding Mick17221 – 0Trevelyan Andy16911
712Skelsey Stuart16611bye


12Bielby Paul1675½ – ½4Clarke John14115
21Laws Darren16841 – 0Walshaw David14414
35Smith Mike15331 – 03Rowden Kevin1479
46Mitcheson Robert152½ – ½2Marsh John1544
510Burnell Steve1462½ – ½Smith Christian14512
63Robson Paul1610 – 12Wall (Jnr) John1488
77Younger Mark1501bye


12Czestochowski Eddie1344½ – ½Moreby Kurt1313
26Noble William1261 – 04Baird Jeff1237
311Gunasekera Asanga102½ – ½3Rook Ian1285
41Cox Kevin1361 – 02Appleby Rob9312
58Heyman Bob120– – +2Miller Joe8014
69Xu Weiming1132½ – ½1Glasper Brendan8413
710Johnson Stan11121bye