December 2018

To try to engender some interest/enthusiasm, particular amongst the young, Tynedale Chess Club are going to hold a simultaneous display at the Queen’s Hall, Hexham at 11am on Saturday 12th January. Yichen Han has agreed to participate and we are planning for 20 boards. Boards will be allocated on a first come first served basis and those interested in playing can email

This is mainly a post for all club webmasters. I’ve created a WordPress plugin which allows you to display a live copy of the NCA table and fixtures on your club websites. It allows you to filter the fixtures down to your own club so you don’t have to go searching on this website for fixtures you’re interested in. If your club website runs on WordPress give me an email if you want to get a copy of the plugin. I plan on adding a lot of new features to this plugin if enough clubs decide to take it up. If you’re interested you can view it working on the South Shields Chess Club website.

Hi, I’m Chris Goodall. You may remember me from such Northumbria League editions as 2013: A New IM, 2014: Durham City Strike Back, and 2015: Return Of… Nope, Durham City Again. Yes, I’ve eaten a whole packet of biscuits since then.

John Wheeler has made this amazing league handbook. It’s not as thick as the Handbuch des Schachspiels, but it’s got the league rules and the grades of every chess player in the county in it, so it’s even more valuable to the connoisseur of Northumberland chess. You can buy one for £2, or €2.50 if you pay me before March 29th.

I’ve resurrected the Eligibility page, because I probably like eligibility rules more than I like chess. I’ve also asked our Web Team to turn comments on. Why even be a chess player if you can’t have opinions about important matters of extremely local interest? The Exchange French remains banned, though.

Stuart Skelsey ½-½ Brian Towers
Johnny Wall Jnr ½-½ Kevin Rowden
Paul Charlton 0-1 Chris Sayers
John Wall Snr 0-1 Ben Wood
Ciaran Macdonald 1-0 Jay Steel

Friday 7th December 2018

Kevin Cox 0-1 Gary Hunter
Bill Noble ½-½ Kuba Jakubowicz
Peter Wells 1-0 Tim Wilton-Davies
Alex Johnson 0-1 Jay Steel
Asa Bayram ½-½ Kevin Lanek

Thursday 6th December 2018

Keith Rockett ½-½ Jeremy Revell
Paul Edwards 1-0 Maxim Miserva
Dave Jarema ½-½ Hanif Zaman
Steve Burnell ½-½ Mez Benmaamar
Dave Hair 0-1 Ugo Oguejiofor

Tuesday 4th December 2018

Ray Devenney 0-1 Antonio Moneva-Jordan
David Baines 0-1 Gary Cornwall
Denise Mosse 0-1 Christian Smith
Paul Sumner ½-½ John Morton
Alistair Ridley 1-0 Lewis Self
Joe Chan ½-½ Joe Murray

Monday 3rd December 2018

John Wheeler 0-1 Tim Wrigley
Dave Stebbings ½-½ James Ross
Paul Costello ½-½ Ian Mackay
Bob Heyman ½-½ Peter Crichton
Ted Jarah 1-0 Dave Humphreys

Monday 3rd December 2018

Zheming Zhang 0-1 David Mooney
Max Turner ½-½ John Boyd
Chris Goodall 1-0 Paul Bielby
Mike Smith ½-½ Brian Towers
Ravi Wariyar ½-½ Ian Maughan

Friday 30th November 2018