Northumberland Chess League

Posted by Lewis on February 9, 2018

The Northumberland Chess League is the premier local chess competition for players in Newcastle, Northumberland and Tyneside. In 2017-18 the league has 33 teams of five, representing twelve clubs, with over 150 players regularly taking part. Our season runs from October to April, but new players may join in at any point. For more information on getting involved please see our Clubs page, or email

Curious how a chess league works? You can now follow @ncaleague on Twitter.

To see your favourite team’s results, click on the filter below with the team you want to see results from. The page you’re looking at now displays the results for all teams in the order they were submitted – so the most recent result will be immediately below this notice.

Northumberland Chess Team Captains

To submit results, use the Submit Result button, where you will find further instructions. The website will now automatically update the results and league table when you submit a result. If you make a mistake, email and it will be corrected as soon as possible.

Tynemouth A 2.5-2.5 Gosforth Salters

Posted by Lewis on February 20, 2018

David Henderson 0-1 Taka Chipanga
Antonia Moneva Jordan ½-½ Stefan Hartmann
Darren Laws ½-½ Roy Bagnall
John Clarke 1-0 Geoff Harrison
Gary Cornwall ½-½ Paul Sumner

Monday 19th February 2018

Gosforth Empire 4-1 Tynedale Tans

Posted by Lewis on February 20, 2018

Joseph Dalton ½-½ Gary Murphy
Andrew Lawson 1-0 David Wrigley
James Moreby 1-0 Tim Wrigley
Mick Riding ½-½ Peter Crichton
Michael McBeth 1-0 Ian Mackay

Tuesday 20th February 2018

Forest Hall Admirals 4-1 Jesmond Knights

Posted by Lewis on February 19, 2018

Tim Wall ½-½ Edward Dodds
Caveh Madjd-pour ½-½ Jesus Urresti
Zheming Zhang 1-0 Andy Trevelyan
Yichen Han 1-0 John Turnock
Stuart Skelsey 1-0 Liam Dobson

Monday 19th February 2018

Forest Hall Chieftains 2.5-2.5 Gosforth Ivy

Posted by Lewis on February 16, 2018

Johnny Wall Jnr 0-1 Mick Riding
Mark Broughton ½-½ Geoff Harrison
Paul Charlton ½-½ Bob Heyman
John Wall Snr ½-½ Ted Jarah
Tom McAllister 1-0 Tony Neville

Friday 16th February 2018

Tynedale Reivers 3-2 Tynemouth C

Posted by Lewis on February 16, 2018

Peter Crichton ½-½ Gary Cornwall
Ian Mackay 0-1 Christian Smith
Steve Larkin ½-½ Dennis White
Bruce Reed 1-0 Philip Jackson
Christine Moorcroft 1-0 Joe Murray

Thursday 15th February 2018

Gateshead 1.5-3.5 Tynemouth B

Posted by Lewis on February 15, 2018

Kevin Cox 0-1 Keith Rockett
Denise Mosse ½-½ Steve Burnell
Bill Noble 0-1 Dave Hair
Peter Wells ½-½ Dave Jerema
Asa Bayram ½-½ Ray Garside

Thursday 15th February 2018

Durham City 4-1 Gosforth Salters

Posted by Lewis on February 15, 2018

Andy Horton 1-0 Taka Chipanga
Thomas Eggleston 1-0 Michael McBeth
Ken Neat 1-0 John Wheeler
Szymon Palucha 1-0 Geoff Harrison
George Gazis 0-1 Paul Sumner

Wednesday 14th February 2018

Northumbria Masters Live!

Posted by Lewis on February 14, 2018

The Northumbria Masters tournament starts this evening. The event is a nine-round FIDE-rated Swiss which will have opportunities for international title norms, including for GM and IM, and now has a total prize fund of £3,150. The tournament is aimed at bringing top-class chess to the North East for the first time since the British Championships were held in North Shields in 2012. The event’s first round starts at 18:30. If you wish to follow the live games, Forrest Hall’s website is broadcasting them.

Gosforth Regents 3.5-1.5 South Shields B

Posted by Lewis on February 13, 2018

David Stebbings 0-1 Brian Towers
David Baynes 1-0 Kevin Rowden
Martin Beardsley 1-0 Eddie Czestochowskl
Kurt Moreby 1-0 Stan Johnson
Paul Costello ½-½ Asanga Gunasekera

Monday 12th February 2018

Gosforth V 3.5-1.5 Leam Lane Bullets

Posted by Lewis on February 12, 2018

Noel Boustred 0-1 Alan Young
Joe Chan 1-0 Dave Stewardson
Gary Clarke ½-½ Rob Appleby
Steve Wilde 1-0 Joe Miller
Brian Ord 1-0 Default

Monday 12th February 2018