Northumberland Rapid Play Champions

Chess players from all over the North East came together at the Customs House, South Shields to compete for the honor of becoming the Northumberland and Durham Rapid Play Chess Champion. South Shields Chess Club this year are celebrating its 150th Anniversary, so its members organised a special Rapid Play Chess Tournament, incorporating Northumberland and Durham Chess Association Rapid play Championships.

75 players, from as far a field as Edinburgh, Carlisle and Manchester were attracted to the event. With many more sending in apologies due to holidays and conflicts with other tournaments, we may have had to limit the numbers but fortunately it all worked out in the end. It was the first time this particular cultural venue had held an event of type, maybe the lighting could have been improved but it was manageable. There were other events been held at the Venue, a craft fair on the riverside and a burger stand giving visitors plenty of options at lunch time. The competition was graded and was run on single competition basis which enabled 9 rounds to be fitted in during the day, so there was plenty of chess played. Each match was played on a 10 minute plus 5 second increment.

The Eventual overall champion was FM Charlie Storey. The Major Champion was Mike Smith and the Minor Champion was 8 year old Yichen Han. The general consensus was that most people enjoyed the congress and there seems to be a hunger for more of these one day congresses. South Shields Chess Club would like to thank Lara and Alex for all their efforts and for all the entrants to helping to make the event a very memorable day.

South Shields are holding a Rapid Play event to celebrate their 150th anniversary to be held at the Customs House South Shields on the 3rd of July. If you would like to enter please visit the South Shields Chess website to submit your entry. To make the event even more memorable this year the event will also incorporate the Northumberland Association Rapid Play Championship. Arbiters for the event will be Lara Barnes and Alex McFarlane. The Event will be graded.

The event format will be a 9 round Swiss Tournament, which is open to all players and will be run as a single section with grading prizes. 1st Place prize is £150, 2nd place prize is £75 and third place prize is £25. Additional Grading Prizes to be confirmed once entries have been finalised. The format for the congress will be 10 minutes with a 5 second increment, the first game will start at 10am and we expect to finish all the games by 5pm. Prize giving will soon follow once the last game has finished.

The chess-results standings have been placed online. Once the tournament is over the results will be put up on chess-results.com. 

All of the final round games have now been completed in line with the tournament schedule and I have updated Chess Results.com with all of the results.

I am now in a position to announce the results:

1st Place David Armbruster (6 points)
2nd Place Tim Wall (4.5 points)
John Boyd (4.5 points)
Alan Harvey (4.5 points)
James Moreby (4.5 points)

1st Place Zheming Zhang (6.5 points)
2nd Place Andy Trevelyan (5 points)
3rd Place John France (4.5 points)

1st Place Christian Smith (6 points)
2nd Place Mark Younger (5.5 points)
3rd Place Lewis Self (4.5 points)

Congratulations to David Armbruster, Zheming Zhang and Christian Smith for winning their respective sections. Very well played.

All of the sections were very competitive this year and are set to become even more competitive and difficult to win in future years as the standard of chess improves.

Thanks to everyone for taking part in the Northumberland Chess League. All of the games have been finished and I am now able to announce the final results.

Division One Final Standings:

In division 1 each team has played each other once. Gosforth Empire has claimed the title on an impressive 18 Match Points making them the Northumberland Chess League champions, winning 8 games, drawing two and losing none. The runnners up were Tynemouth A following with 13 Match Points.

  1. Gosforth Empire
  2. Tynemouth A
  3. Durham City
  4. Jesmond Knights
  5. Morpeth A
  6. South Shields A
  7. Forest Hall Admirals
  8. Tynedale Tans
  9. Gosforth Regents
  10. Leam Lane Aces
  11. Jesmond Rookies

Division Two Final Standings:

In division 2 each team has played each other once. South Shields B has claimed the title on an impressive 18 Match Points making them the division two champions, winning 8 games, drawing two and losing none. The runnners up were Gosforth Salters closing following with 15 Match Points.

  1. South Shields B
  2. Gosforth Salters
  3. Gateshead
  4. Tynemouth B
  5. Morpeth B
  6. Gosforth Ivy
  7. Forest Hall Chieftains
  8. Forest Hall Brigadiers
  9. Leam Lane Comets
  10. Tynedale Reivers
  11. Tynemouth C

Division Three Final Standings:

In division 3 each team has played each other twice, once home and one away. Alnwick has claimed the title on 15 Match points making them the division three champions, only losing 2 out of the ten games. The runners up with 13 Match points are Newcastle University.

  1. Alnwick
  2. Newcastle University
  3. Tynemouth D
  4. South Shields C
  5. Forest Hall Ensigns
  6. Forest Hall Dragoons

Mike Smith ½-½ Peter Wells
Stuart Skelsey 1-0 Gagik Abaryan
John Wall Snr ½-½ Bill Noble
Paul Charlton ½-½ Denise Mosse
Johnny Wall Jnr 0-1 Alex Johnson

Friday 29th April 2016

Malola Prasath 0-1 Roger Coathup
Ed Dodds ½-½ Mike Smyth
John Turnock 0-1 James Turner
Zheming Zhang ½-½ Darren Laws
Jesus Urresti 1-0 Les Whittle

Friday 22nd April 2016

Mariana Mosnegutu 1-0 Jesus Urresti
David Wrigley 1-0 Robert Archer
Tim Wrigley 0-1 Andy Trevelyan
Derek Blair 0-1 David Walshaw
Phil Taylor 0-1 Liam Dobson

Tuesday 19th April 2016

Michael Mcbeth ½-½ Keith Rockett
Bob Heyman ½-½ Dave Hair
Dave Stebbings 0-1 Dave Jarema
Tony Neville 1-0 Dave Mear
Gary Clarke 0-1 Ray Garside

Monday 04th April 2016

Kevin Cox 1-0 Default
Gagik Abaryan 0-1 Alan Young
Peter Wells 1-0 Dave Stewardson
Bill Noble 1-0 Colin Mcgarty
Alex Johnson ½-½ Rob Appleby

Thursday 07th April 2016